In North Carolina, the law imposes mandatory minimum sentencing for drug trafficking charges. Depending on the substance and the amount, a convicted offender will receive at least 25 months and up to 225 months in prison, whether he or she possesses, sells, manufactures, cultivates or delivers the amount in question.
These are the mandatory minimum sentences in North Carolina for common controlled substances.
Class H felony convictions
A class H felony for drug trafficking carries a mandatory minimum of 25 months in prison. This sentence applies to possession of:
Class G felony convictions
With a class G felony, the mandatory minimum sentence is 35 months in prison. This sentence applies to possession of:
Class F felony convictions
For a class F felony, a convicted individual will receive at least 70 months in prison. This type of drug crime includes possession of:
Amounts exceeding these limits can result in charges of either a class E felony (mandatory minimum sentence of 90 months), class D felony (175 months) or class C felony (225 months). Individuals who face these charges may potentially avoid significant jail time by protecting their legal rights. For example, the judge may waive mandatory minimums if a defendant agrees to work with prosecutors.